4. Hardware supported by the linuxtv.org DVB driversΒΆ


This documentation is outdated. Please check at the DVB wiki at https://linuxtv.org/wiki for more updated info.

Please look at https://linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Hardware_Device_Information for an updated list of supported cards.

Generally, the DVB hardware manufacturers frequently change the frontends (i.e. tuner / demodulator units) used, usually without changing the product name, revision number or specs. Some cards are also available in versions with different frontends for DVB-S/DVB-C/DVB-T. Thus the frontend drivers are listed separately.


  1. There is no guarantee that every frontend driver works out of the box with every card, because of different wiring.
  2. The demodulator chips can be used with a variety of tuner/PLL chips, and not all combinations are supported. Often the demodulator and tuner/PLL chip are inside a metal box for shielding, and the whole metal box has its own part number.
  • Frontends drivers:

    • dvb_dummy_fe: for testing...
    • ves1x93 : Alps BSRV2 (ves1893 demodulator) and dbox2 (ves1993)
    • cx24110 : Conexant HM1221/HM1811 (cx24110 or cx24106 demod, cx24108 PLL)
    • grundig_29504-491 : Grundig 29504-491 (Philips TDA8083 demodulator), tsa5522 PLL
    • mt312 : Zarlink mt312 or Mitel vp310 demodulator, sl1935 or tsa5059 PLLi, Technisat Sky2Pc with bios Rev. 2.3
    • stv0299 : Alps BSRU6 (tsa5059 PLL), LG TDQB-S00x (tsa5059 PLL),
      LG TDQF-S001F (sl1935 PLL), Philips SU1278 (tua6100 PLL), Philips SU1278SH (tsa5059 PLL), Samsung TBMU24112IMB, Technisat Sky2Pc with bios Rev. 2.6
    • ves1820 : various (ves1820 demodulator, sp5659c or spXXXX PLL)
    • at76c651 : Atmel AT76c651(B) with DAT7021 PLL
    • alps_tdlb7 : Alps TDLB7 (sp8870 demodulator, sp5659 PLL)
    • alps_tdmb7 : Alps TDMB7 (cx22700 demodulator)
    • grundig_29504-401 : Grundig 29504-401 (LSI L64781 demodulator), tsa5060 PLL
    • tda1004x : Philips tda10045h (td1344 or tdm1316l PLL)
    • nxt6000 : Alps TDME7 (MITEL SP5659 PLL), Alps TDED4 (TI ALP510 PLL), Comtech DVBT-6k07 (SP5730 PLL), (NxtWave Communications NXT6000 demodulator)
    • sp887x : Microtune 7202D
    • dib3000mb : DiBcom 3000-MB demodulator
    • dst : TwinHan DST Frontend
    • nxt200x : Nxtwave NXT2002 & NXT2004
    • or51211 : or51211 based (pcHDTV HD2000 card)
    • or51132 : or51132 based (pcHDTV HD3000 card)
    • bcm3510 : Broadcom BCM3510
    • lgdt330x : LG Electronics DT3302 & DT3303
  • Cards based on the Phillips saa7146 multimedia PCI bridge chip:

    • TI AV7110 based cards (i.e. with hardware MPEG decoder): - Siemens/Technotrend/Hauppauge PCI DVB card revision 1.1, 1.3, 1.5, 1.6, 2.1 (aka Hauppauge Nexus)
    • “budget” cards (i.e. without hardware MPEG decoder): - Technotrend Budget / Hauppauge WinTV-Nova PCI Cards - SATELCO Multimedia PCI - KNC1 DVB-S, Typhoon DVB-S, Terratec Cinergy 1200 DVB-S (no CI support) - Typhoon DVB-S budget - Fujitsu-Siemens Activy DVB-S budget card
  • Cards based on the B2C2 Inc. FlexCopII/IIb/III:

    • Technisat SkyStar2 PCI DVB card revision 2.3, 2.6B, 2.6C
  • Cards based on the Conexant Bt8xx PCI bridge:

    • Pinnacle PCTV Sat DVB
    • Nebula Electronics DigiTV
    • TwinHan DST
    • Avermedia DVB-T
    • ChainTech digitop DST-1000 DVB-S
    • pcHDTV HD-2000 TV
    • DViCO FusionHDTV DVB-T Lite
    • DViCO FusionHDTV5 Lite
  • Technotrend / Hauppauge DVB USB devices:

    • Nova USB
    • DEC 2000-T, 3000-S, 2540-T
  • DiBcom DVB-T USB based devices:

    • Twinhan VisionPlus VisionDTV USB-Ter DVB-T Device
    • HAMA DVB-T USB device
    • CTS Portable (Chinese Television System)
    • KWorld V-Stream XPERT DTV DVB-T USB
    • JetWay DTV DVB-T USB
    • ADSTech Instant TV DVB-T USB
    • Ultima Electronic/Artec T1 USB TVBOX (AN2135 and AN2235)
    • Compro Videomate DVB-U2000 - DVB-T USB
    • Grandtec USB DVB-T
    • Avermedia AverTV DVBT USB
    • DiBcom USB DVB-T reference device (non-public)
    • Yakumo DVB-T mobile USB2.0
    • DiBcom USB2.0 DVB-T reference device (non-public)
  • Experimental support for the analog module of the Siemens DVB-C PCI card

  • Cards based on the Conexant cx2388x PCI bridge:

    • ADS Tech Instant TV DVB-T PCI
    • ATI HDTV Wonder
    • digitalnow DNTV Live! DVB-T
    • DViCO FusionHDTV DVB-T1
    • DViCO FusionHDTV DVB-T Plus
    • DViCO FusionHDTV3 Gold-Q
    • DViCO FusionHDTV3 Gold-T
    • DViCO FusionHDTV5 Gold
    • Hauppauge Nova-T DVB-T
    • KWorld/VStream XPert DVB-T
    • pcHDTV HD3000 HDTV
    • TerraTec Cinergy 1400 DVB-T
    • WinFast DTV1000-T
  • Cards based on the Phillips saa7134 PCI bridge:

    • Medion 7134
    • Pinnacle PCTV 300i DVB-T + PAL
    • LifeView FlyDVB-T DUO
    • Typhoon DVB-T Duo Digital/Analog Cardbus
    • Philips TOUGH DVB-T reference design
    • Philips EUROPA V3 reference design
    • Compro Videomate DVB-T300
    • Compro Videomate DVB-T200
    • AVerMedia AVerTVHD MCE A180
    • KWorld PC150-U ATSC Hybrid